h1

Seem to be functioning

September 17, 2008

I went to the picnic with N.

I engaged in amusing (sometimes) small talk with N’s colleagues and students. I even pimped – er, promoted – the libraries. Good librarian, good.

I didn’t cry when I saw the baby there, asleep in his stroller. Okay, I lie. I did cry, but only briefly and I was able to run our paper plates to the garbage can so no one noticed.

Now I feel as though I’ve completed a herculean task. I’m exhausted and slightly proud of myself and worried – if it’s going to take this much effort to be out in the world from now on, I have to wonder if I’ll make it.

Leave a Reply

