h1

Belated thanks

December 1, 2008

I am thankful, deeply and always, for N. I’m so lucky to have married my best friend and to live with the one person in the world who can bring light to my darkest hours, who can talk me down from the precipices, who consistently affirms that I have beauty and value.

I am thankful for last Christmas, when N brought his guitar on our visit with my parents, and that we played and sang for Grandma C, whose eyes lit up at the music. This was, though I didn’t know it then, the last time I would get to see her, and I’m grateful that the memory is so sweet.

I am thankful for gin.

I am thankful for N’s sister, who is compassionate and persistent with us, keeping in touch, letting us talk things out with her, being there even though she is miles away.

I am thankful for my brother and his Love, who are getting married in less than a week. They are good to each other, and for each other, and they’ve made it through years of living apart. Their wedding is a bright spot in an otherwise brutal year.

I am thankful for my parents and family, who don’t always know what to say, but who make their love felt, and I am thankful for my friends who do the same.

I am thankful for the doctors and nurses who fought for us, who took care of us, for the amazing community we were so briefly a part of at the Ronald McDonald house, for the friendliness of Portland, City of Roses, where Teddy was born and died.

I am thankful for our too-brief time with Teddy, for the beauty, peace, and clarity of that short time.

3 comments

  1. It is hard, but still nice to sit down and count the things we are thankful for, even when we’ve been through what we have. We don’t do thanksgiving here, but I have been counting my blessings a bit lately, when I read about so many others and what they are thankful for.


  2. “I am thankful for our too-brief time with Teddy, for the beauty, peace, and clarity of that short time.”

    That’s it… exactly.


  3. I am particularly fond of the third thing on your list.

    And that you have found anything for which to be thankful is, well, amazing really.



Leave a Reply

