h1

Honest Scraps

February 16, 2009

Many thanks to Sally, Hope’s mama, for tagging me for the Honest Scraps award.  It’s still a matter of some amazement to me that people come here to read what I write, that this blog has value to people besides me.  I’m truly touched by that.  As I’m late in accepting and posting, and as I’m shy about tagging people, anyone who reads this blog who hasn’t already received it may consider themselves tagged.

The rules of the award: 1) Choose a minimum of seven blogs that you find brilliant in content or design. 2) Show the seven winners names and links on your blog, and leave a comment informing them that they were prized with “Honest Scrap”. Well, there’s no prize, but they can keep the nifty icon. 3) List at least 10 honest things about yourself.

I’m giving two extra honest things, to make up for my tardiness in posting:

  1. I feel compelled to color my hair now and then even though I like my hair’s natural color better than any of the colors I’ve tried.
  2. I grew up in a small town in Montana where hunting was common; I know how to shoot a rifle.
  3. Because so many of my coworkers are on Face.book, I sometimes manipulate my status posts to make myself look more productive than I actually am.
  4. I love being married, but every once in a while I want to rearrange all the things that N has arranged since we moved in together.
  5. Much as I love my job, some days I wish certain co-workers would be abducted and probed by aliens.
  6. I still can’t talk much about Teddy without crying, which makes me sad because he was such a beautiful little guy and I’d like to share his memories with friends and family more than I do.
  7. When I was little, my best friend used to not want people at school to know we were friends because I was a geek.  Not surprisingly, this didn’t do wonders for my self esteem.  I’m still surprised when people like me.
  8. I still haven’t completely forgiven my dad for the time when he asked Mom to tell me that if I lost a little weight I’d have more dates.  High school was bad enough already.
  9. There are people around me who know about Teddy and have never mentioned him, offered condolences, or let on that anything even happened. I’ve lost a lot of respect for them.
  10. I write fairy-tale-like stories in my (not so copious) free time, and started a fantasy novel back in November.  My favorite part of the novel (so far)? The talking weasel.
  11. I will eat just about anything on a dare or to be polite.
  12. There are moments when I see with great certainty that I’m going to be okay, and that things are going to get better. This makes me feel guilty as hell.
4 comments

  1. I would love to read about the talking weasel 🙂


  2. #3 sounds like a good idea!

    #12 Don’t be guilty. It is healthy, and I am sure that is a better way to honor and remember Teddy.

    #9 yes, Of course, you are doing better than me, you lost respect for them, I can’t take being around them. They have no interest to me, nothing to offer me, and I don’t care to ‘be there’ for them. If you fail me at my darkest hour, what is anything else? (sorry to go off, but ok obviously something I am not done dealing with yet)

    Thanks for leaving 12!


  3. When you’re pregnant everyone offers you advice. When you’re grieving it also seems that people are quick to offer advice.

    Because of this I’ve became fairly obsessed with NOT offering people advice. A couple of friends have married recently and I had to stop myself from writing “One piece of advice…” on their wedding cards.

    So instead of offering advice, I’d like to share a sentence with you that I love. It comes from “Grief Therapy” by Karen Katafiasz and was sent to me by my aunt after my son was stillborn.

    “Living your life to the full is not a betrayal of a memory but fulfillment of a promise to someone who would want only the best for you”

    It doesn’t always work, but sometimes this helps with the guilt.


  4. Always happy to read here and I’m touched you read at my place, too. This support network has been such a wonderful thing. Sorry I’m late, but I only got back from my trip last night.



Leave a Reply

