h1

Right now

March 25, 2009

My sister-in-law is in labor. We’ve been worrying about them all day (induced this a.m.)

It helps that N has been worried, too.  Noticeably worried.  Not frantic, but on the cusp.  It makes me feel less like a crazy woman.

I am scared for them, jealous (still, damn it), and trying like hell to be happy for them.

Ian McKellen’s King Lear was on television tonight –

Why should a horse, a dog, a rat have life, and thou no breath at all?

Why, indeed?  It’s scary that I now find comfort in what is commonly believed to be Shakespeare’s most disturbing ending.  I’m not alone, you see, because of Lear.  I wonder if Shakespeare, who had lost a son, felt similarly.

The phone is ringing…

Leave a Reply

