h1

Update

January 9, 2010

Quick update – quick because I’m writing it on my phone (the home internet connection isn’t working so well these days – not getting our router set up sooner is another thing I’m kicking myself for just now).

I’m on moderate bed rest (no work, but allowed a 20 min walk a day) while being watched for preeclampsia. Blood pressure readings have improved dramatically since New Year’s NST, though, which is good.

I wanted to be one of those women, like my
mother, who have no-fuss pregnancies, but this is the body I have, the experience I get. And Dot is looking good, so I’m trying not to be bitter about watching my carefully hoarded work leave disappearing before I even get to hold my baby, or about the fact that L&D rooms, happy places for so many, still make me want to run for the hills.

I’m so grateful for all of you, for your words & stories. You make me feel less isolated and blithering.

12 comments

  1. I wish it could be easier (in so many ways), but glad Dot continues to look good. I was thinking of you earlier, wondering how things were going. Glad for a mostly good update.


  2. Holding you close, Erica.
    xo


  3. Stay put Dot!! Sorry you have to be on bedrest, thinking of you.


  4. Erica, it’s so lovely to hear from you, I’ve been thinking of you. x


  5. I’m so sorry to hear that you have been put on bedrest but glad to know that you and Dot are alright.

    I also wish that I could have had a no-fuss pregnancy. I feel the same way about L&D rooms. And the thought of all that carefully accumulated leave draining away makes me want to stamp my foot on your behalf.

    Thinking of you and Dot. And you never blither.


  6. Erica, I’m glad your blood pressure is improving and that Dot continues to be well. I LOVE reading here – no blithering at all. I continue to wish you and Dot health and serenity.


  7. Thinking of you…and wishing you weren’t following in my footsteps with the bedrest and pre-e watch.


  8. sending you love and hoping you get to watch some good movies and relax.
    xoxo


  9. Ah. So familiar.

    Thinking of you all the time.


  10. hang tight. i am awfully sorry about the work leave, and the bed rest, and the ironic stress of the NSTs…but you are alright and Dot is alright and the time is getting close and all of this is good.

    sending you strength and love.
    xo


  11. I think bedrest without internet would be intolerable….

    sending you lots of strength.


  12. I have been to this very scary place. Please know I am thinking of you. And I am oh so thankful for Dot’s well-being at the point.



Leave a Reply

