h1

Coming soon

January 26, 2010

Sometimes it feels like the non- stress tests are all comedies of errors, that appointments with the doctor always involve at least one or two unexpected elements.

Yesterday evening we went in for our pre-scheduled NST and caught the L&D folks in a state of (hopefully unusual) disorganization. We had to wait while a room was cleaned, had to wait for the nurse to come in and hook me up to the monitors (which were actually set up to monitor someone else in another room – I didn’t know they could do that). Dot decided not to cooperate and persisted in wiggling off the monitor, and the attempted remedy for this was to keep tightening the straps around my belly.

Finally, after the shift change (we were there a long time), one of my favorite nurses showed up and gently held the monitor on my belly until the test was done. We trudged home, tired and pensive, hoping that the next test would be easier.

At today’s doctor appointment, after the usual checks and questions, we talked about delivery plans. It looks like we may well be meeting Dot next week. The words “next week” keep echoing in my head.

I think I’m as ready as I’ll get; I just don’t know if I believe it yet, that this part of the journey is so nearly over, that we’ll get to (oh please, oh please) keep her.

11 comments

  1. *hugs* are we ever really ready? 🙂
    So excited for you!


  2. I hope you get to keep her, too.
    And I can relate to those haphazard NSTs. They really are stress tests, as opposed to non stress tests I find!


  3. Its all so surreal…I’m still pinching myself 4 weeks after he arrived. Waiting and hoping with you.


  4. I remember well the excitement and the anxiety of the last little bit of the journey. Thinking of you as you wait and hope.

    Dot, come out alive and healthy, and stay a while, a long, long while.


  5. Oh this is so exciting! Waiting with you!


  6. Next week. How amazing.
    Thinking of you and your sweet Dot. x


  7. I’ll keep my fingers crossed until then. I absolutely hope you get to keep her, too.


  8. you’re always in my thoughts. i’ll be checking constantly to find out how things are and I am sending you good thoughts and vibes!


  9. My heart is in my throat. I can’t wait.
    Big ((hugs)) to you.


  10. love to you, all of you.
    🙂


  11. wow, next week!
    sending lots of love to you and dot
    xoxo



Leave a Reply

