h1

Pics

March 5, 2010

These words from Much Ado About Nothing kept coming back to me before, during, and after Dot’s birth. We didn’t send birth announcements, but if we had, I would have worked them in somehow.

…for out o’ question you were born in a merry hour.

No, sure, my lord, my mother cried; but then there was a star
danc’d, and under that was I born.

(This is also a strong hint as to Dot’s first name, for the curious.)

Here are two shots of our girl. She looks much less like her brother than I’d thought she might and much more like herself than like N or me.

We’re so excited for the chance to see how she grows up.

Dot, sleeping

I’ve been away from a computer with an internet connection for far too long, and my phone, while wonderful, just isn’t quite the same. That, and the fact that Dot doesn’t like to be put down very often, and the fact that it’s taken us a while to get the hang of the breastfeeding thing (thank goodness for lactation consultants is all I’ll say about that for now) are my excuses for not posting these pics earlier. I hope to be posting more often now, though. I’m starting to shake off some of the hazy isolation of new parenthood and reemerge into the world a little bit – a mixed blessing, but hopefully ultimately a good thing.

10 comments

  1. Oh Erica. I nearly jumped off the couch when I saw this post! She’s a beauty.
    I hear you with the lactation consultants. I wouldn’t be where I am now without the one I saw – and neither would Angus.
    I’m glad you’re back.
    Congrats again.
    xo


  2. It is SO lovely to hear from you. Dot is absolutely beautiful. Love the name! (It’s not the one I guessed before, but I’m a big fan of Shakespearean names in general!)

    Love to you and give Dot a big kiss from me. xx


  3. too cute!


  4. Beautiful!
    So glad to hear from you. I’ve missed your voice, though spending time with this your little one is a very good excuse.


  5. She’s gorgeous! And yes, thank goodness for LCs. We joked before Micah was born that if he arrived safely we would never put him down…little did we know that actually HE would never allow us to put HIM down! Sounds like your little girl is the same. Many congratulations and much love.


  6. Oh she’s perfect! Congrats again!


  7. She is simply beautiful. Congratulations to you and N.

    A perfect quote for a perfect little girl born under a dancing star. xo


  8. Congratulations Erica.
    She is beautiful.
    So thrilled for you.


  9. oh I’m in tears. She is magnificent and gorgeous and I am so happy for you.


  10. she is so beautiful erica!
    thinking of you three and teddy too
    and sending you love
    xoxo



Leave a Reply

