h1

Little gifts

January 31, 2011

Watson

This is a photograph of Watson, our car, in the springtime, and this is how I park it. When N parks it, however, he backs in. He backs in so that I don’t have to back out onto the street.

There are times when I find myself scrambling to get dinner ready while holding the baby in one arm and trying to keep her happy by popping peas in her mouth as I stir and slice and set the table, and it’s craziness, craziness all around, and I think somewhat jealously of N sitting at his office computer and wonder when he started to take me so for granted.

And this is usually the time he appears, amuses the baby, pours me a beverage, and manages to right the world.

He slips dark chocolate into my pocket, leaves cookies on my desk, calls me Beautiful.

We do take each other for granted, more often than we should. It’s one of the hard things about being together for years, and also one of the ramifications of parenthood. It’s hard to snatch moments just for us, even though we want them. Even though we know we’re worth it.

And perhaps because our time together is so often full of Dot, full of trying to get things done, full of hurry and scurry, that these little things – backing the car in for me, dancing with Dot so that I can have a few moments to read a chapter in a novel, slipping a chocolate into my jacket pocket – mean so very much.

Because sometimes I wonder when he started taking me for granted, and sometimes I wonder what he sees in me, that he never stopped courting me.

4 comments

  1. He sounds like a keeper! Romance is not dead!

    And the dynamics really do change after a little one is in the mix. They are just so needy. And time consuming. And for the most part, it’s great. Just demanding.

    And my cooking is something like that too!


  2. Awww. Simon just popped some chocolate in the fridge for me, as it is so hot here, it would have melted (yes, that hot). Last night he also stayed up and cleaned the kitchen from top to bottom so I wouldn’t wake up to a dirty kitchen (again) and have to make Angus breakfast amidst the mess.
    It is the little things.
    Lovely, heartwarming post.


  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Josie Schmolke, Erica N.. Erica N. said: He's a good'un. https://ilostaworld.wordpress.com/2011/01/31/little-gifts/ #thehomeproject […]


  4. I love this image of his slipping chocolates into your pocket. The whole post reminded me that it is all taking for granted, those little things are all a-courting. I have to remember that. Beautiful post.



Leave a Reply

