h1

Happy Birthday to the Bathtub Oracle

February 1, 2011
Bathtub oracle, 1.

Bathtub oracle, 1.

At some point in the last two months, Dot began picking up random objects – toys, pieces of paper, shoes (hers and ours) and carrying them into the bathroom. She’ll dangle her chosen object over the edge of the bathtub and sometimes talk to herself a little about it. After some consideration, she may drop whatever she’s holding into the bathtub, or she may take it out, look at it again, and drop it on the bath mat instead.

Bathtub oracle, 2.

Bathtub oracle, 2.

This all means something, even though I don’t know what.

At the end of most days, there are new collections of things in the bathtub. I’m not sure if she’s trying desperately to communicate with us or if this is some baby version of casting runes or speaking the wisdom of the gods (possibly the bathtub god?).

It’s funny and odd and mysterious. I knew, when she was born a year ago that I loved her with big, deep love, but I didn’t know she would be so funny and odd and mysterious.

I didn’t know how scarily smart and mobile she would be, or that she’d enjoy hauling around large objects (the laundry basket, the bath mat), or that I’d love her little toothy smile as much if not more than I loved her little gummy smile. I didn’t know that her baby kisses (open-mouthed and involving usually quite a bit of drool) would make me melt in quite this way.

Bathtub oracle, 4.

Bathtub oracle, 4.

It’s bitter-sweet because I can’t help but wonder what her brother would have been like. If he’d have been this active or if he’d have been more laid-back. If he’d have patted us on the back while giving us hugs, too. I love Teddy, but I’ll never be able to love him this way because I’ll never know him this way, never see him becoming more and more himself with every day and week and month.

But this is your day, Dot. Your day to be amazing, to be a whole year old. I’m so happy you’re here and that I get to know how smart and funny and sweet and mysterious and strong you are.

My froglet, my bumblebee, my little bathtub oracle. There’s a chocolate cake with cream cheese frosting waiting for you at home, but I feel like there should be fireworks, too.

5 comments

  1. Yes, I think fireworks are warranted. And I’d like some of that cake, please.
    Happy birthday to Dot! Enjoy the frosting covered kisses, mama.


  2. Oh happy birthday, dear Dot! And this is bizarre, but Angus does the exact same thing with the bath. How very odd. His father’s socks, hairbrushes, kitchen utensils, books, toys, IPHONES!! You name it, if he can get his hands on it and the bathroom door is open, he’s going straight in there to dump stuff in there.
    I had to sprint after him the other night when he ran in with an iphone while the bath was RUNNING! Caught him just in the nick of time.
    Happy birthday again to your baby girl, and well done mama on this huge milestone.
    xo


  3. Many happy returns to your dear little Dot!
    I’m now desperately trying to read the runes of the bathtub too.


  4. Happy happy Birthday, Dot!!!!

    much love to you and your family.

    And, I guess, if you can’t find something in the house, best to check the bathtub!


  5. I’m late but Happy Birthday to beautiful Dot.



Leave a Reply

