h1

Spoken Word Round-Up

October 24, 2011

This is my post for Angie’s Spoken Word Round-Up, and it should probably be titled something like “Ack! Eek!” I toyed with recording this on my phone while filming the autumn leaves outside my window, which would have been very pretty and possibly less distracting than watching my nervous face, and also would have made me feel all cool and NPR-ish and allowed me to channel Ira Glass, but since you’re getting my voice, you’re getting the rest of me, too. Eighties bangs and all.

Two notes:

  • I’m sorry about the nervous smiling. Bad habit. Working on it.
  • Note: I don’t have eighties bangs every day, but what you see here is the sad result of my last DIY haircut. Be warned!
24 comments

  1. You look beautiful. I have many a bad DIY haircut photo. I love the way you read this post. It is gorgeous. I remember reading it, And it is beautiful. I think my favorite line is “His cheek is so damned soft.” And when you talk about how the nurse chose exactly right, particularly when nothing was exactly right. Just love your writing and hearing it come out of your mouth. Thank you for sharing this. Can you read more? (I’m pushing my luck, I get it.)


  2. I agree with Angie. You do look beautiful.

    Thank you for reading your words, I think this project truly brings a face and a life to all of the babies lost.


  3. You are beautiful, and you write beautifully, and it’s so wonderful to see you and hear you.
    x


  4. This has just been amazing. You are wonderful. Thank you for sharing today 🙂 xxx


  5. I am so in love with this project… hugs mamma.


  6. So glad you shared. This is beautiful…as are you.


  7. I am so very glad that you decided to post. It is so amazing to hear your voice, the voice that I’ve been ‘listening’ to for years now. So lovely to hear you speaking Erica!

    This post is as heart breaking as it was the first time I read it. The blanket and Teddy’s stubborn little expression. My heart aches just as much for your sweet boy as it did over two years ago. How can two years have passed?

    I wish we could complete some seemingly impossible task as they do in fairy tales. To bring them back.

    And I know that this isn’t the point but I LOVE your hair!


  8. In thinking about reading one of my posts, I went back and read three years worth of writing. I found that I too wrote the “same” post on more than one occasion year after year. I think it is worth doing, both for the things that change and for those that stay the same. I still wish the world would slow down come December (my August). Thank you for sharing this post.


  9. I’m so pleased you participated – I think you are an amazing writer whose words often resonate with me and it’s lovely to put a face to the words. Your post was powerful as text – it’s amazingly so when shared by you. Thank you for taking part (and going for the face option rather than the leaves!)


  10. I’d walk the world in iron boots until the soles wear out. So would I Erica, so would I.
    And, interesting to read back and see what has changed, and what hasn’t.
    Thankyou for sharing yourself and Freddie in this way.
    xo


  11. You were one of the first I found on this lonely journey of babyloss grief and your words have never failed to not resonate with me. There were so many points in this reading of yours where I had to choke back the tears. You’re an amazing writer and mother and I’m so glad you joined in. I know it takes a huge leap of faith, it certainly did for me as well!
    xo


  12. I loved this so very much. I loved how you describe your arms as Teddy’s home, and your fierce, desperate love for him. I can so relate. This was beautiful. Thank you for sharing.
    xo


  13. So much about this rings so true. i am sitting here feeling the ache of the day in my legs and, as a read, realising ‘of course it is those leaden boots’. I can almost feel Teddy in your arms, you perfect home for him, in his blue star blanket. You write beautifully. You read beautifully. Thank you for braving the camera. x Louise


  14. You look beautiful. I have many a bad DIY haircut photo. I love the way you read this post. It is gorgeous. I remember reading it, And it is beautiful. I think my favorite line is “His cheek is so damned soft.” And when you talk about how the nurse chose exactly right, particularly when nothing was exactly right. Just love your writing and hearing it come out of your mouth. Thank you for sharing this. Can you read more? (I’m pushing my luck, I get it.)
    +1


  15. I loved listening to your soothing voice, reading that wonderful blogpost. I am an August survivor too so this hits close to home. Beautifully put: “I wear those memories like jewelry”… Yeah, me too.

    Thank you for participating and sharing this.


  16. I have often thought of the “going with the current” thoughts, too. I loved your vlog, and thank you so much for sharing


  17. Lovely. Just lovely. xx


  18. This is such a wonderful idea! Thank you for voicing your post and sharing him with me.


  19. You have such a beautiful, calming voice. Thank you for sharing!


  20. I agree about looking back and seeing what has changed. I do the same. Thank you for sharing this wonderful post! ♥♥


  21. I am so struck by the heart wrenching honesty of your words. The idea of your arms being his home, his haven. So beautiful…what a beautiful picture of a mother…


  22. Wonderful to watch your video. So beautiful. By the way – I had a DIY haircut as well…


  23. I also like to go back and read my older posts. To see how far I’ve come and how much things are still the same. This was beautifully written and spoken.

    Birth months are so hard.


  24. Beautifully written, & beautifully read. Thank you!



Leave a Reply

